skip to main content
New Hanover County Schools
  Contact NHCS | Search Home Schools" Board of Education Parent Resources Student Resources Community Resources Employee Resources Main Menu

NHCS - News and Announcements

NHCS Teams Place in State Science Olympiad Tournament

New Hanover County Schools teams participated in the recent North Carolina State Science Olympiad Competition held on the campus of North Carolina State University (NCSU). One hundred middle and high schools teams across the state competed, as well as representatives from nearly 60 other schools who earned bids for individual events. Medals were awarded to the top 10 places in each event.

Overall, the Hoggard High School team placed 6th out of 51 teams, marking the 22nd year in a row that Hoggard has brought home a trophy from the state tournament. Hoggard earned medals in 11 of 24 events.

Hoggard High School - Coaches: Steve Clark, Jennifer Coston, and David Taylor
Hovercraft - 4th Place: Daniel Cheng and John Poteat
Microbe Mission - 9th Place: Kasey Kiser and Emma Johnson
Optics - 8th Place: Morgan Mase and Jon Stenger
Herpetology - 9th Place: James Hardy and Katrielle Soussana
Materials Science - 7th Place: Daniel Cheng and Kenna Berg
Thermodynamics - 10th Place: Anna Taylor and Morgan Mase
Dynamic Planet - 4th Place: Daniel Livengood and Zion Panz
Towers - 10th Place: Emma Johnson and John Poteat
Rocks and Minerals - 10th Place: Jon Stenger and Kasey Kiser
Codebusters - 7th Place: Jakob Triemstra, Morgan Mase, and James Hardy
Mousetrap Vehicle - 10th Place: John Poteat and Edwin Li

Roland-Grise Middle School
Crime busters - 1st Place: Justin Guo and Sarthak Mishra
Meteorology - 4th Place: Finnian Long and Sayer Kohman-Eidem
Battery Buggy - 5th Place: Sam Schneider and Nolan Savard

Eugene Ashley High School - Coaches: Gwen Abraham and Kristen Seward
Rocks and Minerals - 6th Place: Nathan Kinsey and Laura Grace Overby
Ping Pong Parachute - 7th Place: Michaela Abraham and Ugochi Onuh
Hovercraft - 8th Place: Grayson Harris and Joey Wenz
Mission Possible - 9th Place: Cole Volkmar and Andrew Stokoszynski
Aerial Scramble (Trial Event) - 2nd Place: Savannah Canady and Grayson Harris

2018 Science Olympiad Coach of the Year

  Bryan Bishop - Isaac Bear

Brian Bishop, Isaac Bear Early College High School

Isaac Bear Early College High School - Coach: Bryan Bishop
Mousetrap Vehicle - 2nd Place: Tommy Esposito and Ben Latter
Dynamic Planet - 3rd Place: Sophia Miller and Zane Dash
Helicopters - 6th Place: Grayson Syster and Vidya Gadikota
Trial Event - Aerial Scramble - 1st Place: Grayson Syster and Ben Latter, their first-place finish also won each of them a $2,500 scholarship to NCSU.
Trial Event - Stuck on Science - 2nd Place: Jonny Morales, Bailey Bordeaux, and Kendall Chodnick, and 6th Place: Sophia Miller and Chloe Jones
Trial Event - Paper Science - 4th Place: Chloe Jones and Cole Woodson
Trial Event - Fermi Questions - 7th Place: Meredith Hou and Sophia Miller

E.A. Laney High School - Coaches: Deborah Gill and Sharon Cicero
Dynamic Planet - 5th Place: Nick Karras and Natalie Kelmer
Herpetology - 7th Place: Matt Weaver and Amy Leister
Mission Possible - 8th Place: Laine Sherman and Cody Curran
Rocks and Minerals - 4th Place: Amy Leister and Natalie Kelmer
Write It, Do It - 9th Place: Laney Larkins and Aidan Ellsworth
Fermi Question - 10th Place: Cate Cornelius and Jade Taylor
Mystery Design - 3rd Place: Allison Carpenter and Ben Arcuri
Paper Science - 5th Place: Jade Taylor
Mousetrap Vehicle - 1st Place: Priyanka Vadrevu and Cody Curran, their first-place finish also won each of them a $2,500 scholarship to NCSU. The entire team also won the Spirit Award and did a fantastic job of representing Laney!

Murray Middle School - Coaches: Brianne Hoff and Jacob Duvall
Wright Stuff - 3rd Place: Katie Barnello and Mike Izzo
Aerial Scrambler - 2nd Place: Katie Barnello and Mike Izzo
Fast Facts - 8th place: Olivia Krisandra and Mike Izzo
Stuck on Science - 4th place: Katherine Johnson and Tory Greene

MCS Noble Middle School - Coaches: Molly Davis, Sarah Musten, and Ken Kelmer
Dynamic Planet - 8th place: Josh Gans and Jacob King
Experimental Design - 8th Place: Cooper Hyldahl, Caroline Hill, and Luke Danielsen
Herpetology - 3rd place: Cooper Hyldahl and Lindsey Knepper
Meteorology - 9th place: Abby Arcuri and Owen Blair
Write It, Do It - 6th Place: Cooper Hyldahl and Caroline Hill
Aerial Scrambler - 9th place: Daniel Kelmer
15th place overall

Students participating in 2018 NC Science Olympiad


Posted: 05/08/18