skip to main content
New Hanover County Schools
  Contact NHCS | Search Home Schools" Board of Education Parent Resources Student Resources Community Resources Employee Resources Main Menu

NHCS - News and Announcements

NHCS Students Advancing to New Levels in SeaPerch Competition

On Saturday, January 20, 2018, 69 students from six different New Hanover County Schools competed in the regional SeaPerch competition hosted by UNCW’s Center for Education in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (CESTEM). The competition took place at the Dinah E. Gore Aquatics Center on the campus of Brunswick Community College.

Students were challenged to prepare for and overcome 11 different events. These events included: Obstacle Course, Speed Challenge, Releasing the Ball Challenge, and others. At stake were opportunities to qualify for the National SeaPerch tournament in Massachusetts later this spring. The “Beach Bots” team from Laney High School earned the top spot in the high school division to qualify for the National SeaPerch tournament. Team members are: Griffin Zwack, Francisco Reyes, Conner Robinson, Sierra Dummermuth.

D.C. Virgo Preparatory Academy (1 team)
Alexis Gower
Heaven Fisher
Kylie Finiff
Coaches: Mike Webb and Tamika Bierlein
The International School at Gregory (3 teams)
JC Page
Diego R. Arenas
Jarron Frost
Maria Fernanda Barriga-Mateos
Lineth Barrientos
Sydney McClendon
Brayden Dancy
Andrew Roland
Joshua Lopez
Coach: Nancy Ledbetter

Murray Middle School (4 teams)
Celeste Faircloth
Jake Jenkins
Kristan Allen
Ben Tran
Peyton Koch
Braeden Krzenski
Ava Fuller
Olivia Hobson
Skyler Jacobs
Reilly Ezzell
Levi Lavengood
Ryan Young
William Marhold
Coach: Ashlea Hoffmier

Myrtle Grove Middle School (6 teams)
Alexis Doran
Jake Rose
Jesse Wooddell
Grayson Lynch
Luke Lecci
Jake Supak
Brooks Butler
Noah Mills
Wyatt Wooddell
Jenna Naylor
Sabra Medlin
Bridget Schultz
Michael Coco
Ivan Doll
Keegan Donovan
Curren Sload
Cooper Criss
Coach: Joe Neal

Laney High School (STEM Program - 10 teams)
Logan Brown
Ryan Ficken
Dylan Williams
Declan Baxendale
Peyton Milks
Sierra Dummermuth
Francisco Reyes
Conner Robinson
Griffin Zwack
Brandon King
Javon Dillard
Alex Amigo
Andy Guo
Adrian Pinder
Jason Wang
Rose Glazier
Walker Smith
Joshua Bernard

Jack Lui
Sam Stewart
Mathis Jackson
Trey Parker
Zack Lewis
Thomas Johnson
J.P. Felix
Stephen Amigo
Remy Garay
Kevin Kosicki
Gabe Vega
Vaughn Pusey
Elmer Rodriguez-Fuentes
Carter Jon Soderena
Ryan Perry
Sasha An
Owen Wells
Cory Canter
Coaches: Jeanna Boyd and Keith Benton

Hoggard High School (NJROTC - 1 team)
Cadet Trinity Murray
Cadet LaKyra Bordeaux
Cadet Emily Astraikis
Cadet Jasaira Santa Maria
Cadet Lincoln Mills
Cadet Mary Von Kolnitz
Cadet Cecilia Perez
Cadet Robert Murray
Cadet Vianey Barrera
Coach: Gregory Serrano

Many of these teams will continue to practice as they prepare for a SeaPerch competition in New Bern in March. Holly Shelter and Williston Middle Schools are also prepping teams for that competition.

SeaPerch is an underwater robotics program sponsored by the United States Navy and RoboNation, an organization under the Association of Unmanned Vehicle Systems International (AUVSI). More information can be found at . If you are interested in supporting the SeaPerch program in New Hanover County Schools, please contact David Glenn, Regional STEM Specialist for NHCS,

Laney Teams Myrtle Grove Teams Murray Teams
Laney Myrtle Grove Murray
Virgo Team Hoggard Team Gregory Teams
Virgo Hoggard International School at Gregory

Posted: 02/01/18