skip to main content
New Hanover County Schools
  Contact NHCS | Search Home Schools" Board of Education Parent Resources Student Resources Community Resources Employee Resources Main Menu

NHCS - News and Announcements

NHCS Honors Student Artists at 2017 Art Awards Breakfast

New Hanover County Schools Superintendent Dr. Tim Markley and members of the New Hanover County Board of Education will honor art students from throughout the district at a breakfast tomorrow, Friday, April 28, 2017, at 7:45 a.m. at NHC Board of Education Center, 1805 South 13th Street.

Dr. Markley selected artwork from four grade categories, grades k-2, grades 3-5, grades 6-8, and grades 9-12. The winning artwork will be on display for one year at the New Hanover County Schools Administration Building located at 6410 Carolina Beach Road. Each Board of Education Member also selected one piece of artwork that will be displayed at the NHC Board of Education Center for one year.

Recipients of the 2017 Superintendent’s Choice Art Awards are as follows:

Elementary, K-2
Nadeen Breeden
College Park Elementary School
Sarah Parson, Art Teacher
Maria Madison, Principal

Elementary, 3-5
Grace Stafford
Blair Elementary School
Liza Saunders, Art Teacher
Kristin Jackson, Principal

Middle School, 6-8
Erin Bullock
Trask Middle School
Jonathan Wood, Art Teacher
Dr. Margaret Rollison, Principal

High School, 9-12
Logan Gray
Laney High School
Andrea Haley, Art Teacher
Sharon Dousharm, Principal

Recipients of the 2017 New Hanover County Board of Education Choice Art Awards Contest are as follows:

Selected by Edward Higgins, Chairman
Lilly Aguilar-Banda
Wrightsboro Elementary School
Bronwen Guthrie, Art Teacher
Delores Overby, Principal

Selected by Jeannette Nichols, Vice Chairperson
Sarah Rhue
Laney High School
Bradley Lewis, Art Teacher
Sharon Dousharm, Principal

Selected by Janice Cavenaugh, Board Member
Melissa Looney
Noble Middle School
Margaret Cooley, Art Teacher
Wade Smith, Principal

Selected by Lisa Estep, Board Member
Mikiya McNeil
Murray Middle School
Lori Patterson, Art Teacher
Philip Sutton, Principal

Selected by Donald Hayes, Board Member
Arianna Marshall
Bellamy Elementary School
Kemmie Bayliss, Art Teacher
Burt Kilpatrick, Principal

Selected by Bruce Shell, Board Member
Eva Osborne
Pine Valley Elementary School
Mallory Neidenthal, Art Teacher
Rebecca Higgins-Opgrand, Principal

Selected by David Wortman, Board Member
Jaqueline Cazarez-Manilla
Wrightsboro Elementary School
Bronwen Guthrie, Art Teacher
Delores Overby, Principal


Posted: 04/27/17