New Hanover County Schools
  Contact NHCS | Search Main Menu

NHCS - News and Announcements

NHCS’ Young Authors Contest Winners

New Hanover County Schools had 17 elementary and middle school student winners in this year’s Young Authors Contest. The contest, sponsored by the North Carolina Reading Association, encourages young authors to write about personal experiences using prose or poetry, fiction or non-fiction. This year’s theme, “Dare to Dream,” asked students to write about their own dreams or about how they have been inspired by the dreams of others. The county level winners and the Council’s Choice winner will move on to compete in the state level competition. The NHCS winners are:

Tyler Beacham, grade 3, Wrightsville Beach Elementary School
Isabel Carlin, grade 8, Roland-Grise Middle School
Maylani Carr, grade 4, Castle Hayne Elementary School
Maddie David, grade 4, Forest Hills Global Elementary School
Ethan Fincannon, grade 6, Roland-Grise Middle School
Caroline Hill, grade 5, John J. Blair Elementary School
Charlie Imig, grade 6, Holly Shelter Middle School
Austin Johnson, grade 8, Myrtle Grove Middle School
Jasmine Kollmann, grade 5, Bellamy Elementary School
Elizabeth MacDonald, grade 8, Holly Shelter Middle School
Sydney McAlear, grade 3, Codington Elementary School
Ni’Kayla McKnight, grade 4, Codington Elementary School
Jaritza Cruz Montalban, grade 5, Wrightsville Beach School
*Mikala Parnell, grade 8, Roland-Grise Middle School, COUNCIL’S CHOICE
Erin Satterlie, grade 6, Myrtle Grove Middle School
Andrea Vazquez, grade 4, Castle Hayne Elementary School
Megan Widerman, grade 7, Holly Shelter Middle School

For more information about the Young Authors Contest, visit


Posted: 01/13/15