New Hanover County Schools
  Contact NHCS | Search Main Menu

NHCS - Instructional Technology 

Math

Practical Money Skills - example Financial Football - more than just games - look at the For Educators section - http://www.practicalmoneyskills.com/games/trainingcamp/

Yummy Math - real world, unique math problem solving - http://www.yummymath.com/

A+ Math - http://www.aplusmath.com
This web site was developed to help students improve their math skills interactively.

AAA Math - http://www.aaamath.com/
Basic skills as well as a “Challenge” section – interactive section as well as a section that explains math concepts.

Illuminations - http://illuminations.nctm.org/
The Tools Tab has interactive resources

Math League - http://www.mathleague.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=64&Itemid=67
Math topics for grades 4-8.  Problems are illustrated and explained step-by step.

Math Forum - http://mathforum.org/
Math resources through the college level.  Contains "Ask Dr. Math" section.

National Library of Virtual Manipulatives http://nlvm.usu.edu/en/nav/vlibrary.html
All grade levels – interactive – needs Java installed.

Absurd Math - http://www.tower23.com/abmathcdrom/index.html
Absurd Math is an interactive mathematical problem solving game series. The player proceeds on missions in a strange world where the ultimate power consists of mathematical skill and knowledge.

Math Playground - http://www.mathplayground.com/
Math Playground is an action packed site for students in grades K to 6

Egyptian Math http://www.eyelid.co.uk/maths2.htm
Cool site using Egyptian numbers in math equations.

Mrs. Glosser’s Math Goodies http://www.mathgoodies.com/
A free math help site featuring interactive lessons, puzzles and worksheets.

BasketMath http://www.scienceacademy.com/BI/index.html
Skills practice with a basketball animation

TenMarks - http://www.tenmarks.com/
Personalized math instruction

XtraMath - https://www.xtramath.org/

Khan Academy - https://www.khanacademy.org/