*denotes AIG qualified teacher

Click here for the staff directory
6th Grade

Luann Cline (Math)*
Mark Samuel (Math)*
Melanie Smith (Science)
Jennifer Tiso (Science)


7th Grade

Kimberly Borer (SS)
Adam French (Science)
Amber Hines (Math)*
Katy Leonard (SS)
Gregory Law (Science)
Ruby Napier (LA) *
8th Grade

Louis Cicero (Math)*
Beth Copley (Math)
Elaine Howard (Science)*

EC Department

Karen Gerkhardt
Pam Hersey
Mary Kearney
Carolina Rudolph
Cynthia Tomastik
Laura Weber

PE Department
Andre Adams
Christie Benton
Joseph Keller
Lauren Tyson (Athletic Director)
Arts Department
Kari Avolis (Band)
Sarah Bishton (Chorus and Drama)
Roy Robuck (Orchestra)
Jonathan Wood (Art)
Elizabeth Bartels (Biotech)
Daniel Drake (Technology)
Charles Leake (STEM)
Stephanie Williams (Business)

Support Staff

Deputy Curry (SRO)
Margarete Fedora (ESL)
Leslie Gehris (ISS)
Aitza Galarza (Psychologist)
Jennifer Graham (NCVPS)
Michael Harper (AIG)*
Ellen Hudson (tutor)
Treasa Hyman (Social Worker)
Susan McManus (MTSS/RTI)
Keith Montgomery (Mental Health)
Lauren Hines (Speech/Language Pathologist)
Michelle Newby (Tutor)
Elizabeth Rappold (Reading Coach)
Jessica Scharff (CRT/Webmaster)
Katie Smith (tutor)
Diana Woodlock (Math Coach)

Linda Callahan
Courtney Coley
Ellen Hudson
Emily Rogers
Carolyn Schwartzel
Elwandya Walker

Media Center

Lisa Coley

Katrena Mills (7th/8th)
Elizabeth Mayott-Scharf (6th/7th)
Custodial Staff

John Akins (Senior Custodian)
Erskine Blackman
Ryan Callahan
Gloria Fullwood
Dan Howard
Pamela Isaac

Cafeteria Staff

Lisa Stone (Manager)
Sandy Artis
Karen Cureton
Pauline Phillips
Brandi Thomas (Cook)

Office Staff

Beverly Bass (Nurse)
Lynne Brown (Payroll/Finance Officer)
Betty Henry (Secretary)
Melody Taylor (Data Manager)

Reach, Equip, Achieve

The mission of New Hanover County Schools, in collaboration with our parents and the community, is to strive to provide children an excellent education in a safe and positive learning environment where they are prepared with the critical skills to reach their full potential for a world yet to be imagined.


In compliance with Federal law, including Section 504 of the 1973 Rehabilitation Act and the provisions of Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, New Hanover County Schools administers all state-operated educational programs, employment activities, and admissions without discrimination because of disability, race, religion, national, or ethnic origin, color, age, military service, or gender except where exemption is appropriate and allowed by law. 

To file a complaint of discrimination, contact: Dr. Rick Holliday, Deputy Superintendent, Student Support and Federal Programs, 6410 Carolina Beach Road, Wilmington, NC 28412, Telephone (910) 254-4206; Fax (910) 254-4226. 

Webmaster: Jessica Scharff l jessica.scharff@nhcs.net
© 2012 New Hanover County Schools l Disclaimer

Emma B. Trask Middle School | 2900 N. College Rd | Wilmington, NC 28405

Phone: (910) 350-2142 Fax: (910) 350-2144