New Hanover County Schools




From the Newsroom to the Classroom, Stacey Pinno Maurer Named NHCS “Rookie of the Year”

From the Newsroom to the Classroom, Stacey Pinno Maurer Named NHCS “Rookie of the Year” 
Alisha Little, Stephen O’Neil, Alex Schaivone, and Jennifer Yates among the Finalists


The Downtown Wilmington Rotary Club held its third annual Rookie of the Year Ceremony on Tuesday, February 19, 2019, at the Cape Fear Country Club, honoring excellence among beginning teachers with less than three years of experience. Stacey Pinno Maurer, a fifth-grade teacher at Wrightsboro Elementary School, was named NHCS’ Rookie of the Year. She received a plaque and a $1,000 gift card presented by the Wilmington Rotary Club.

Mrs. Maurer’s speech highlighted her coverage of stories as a former reporter for WECT and her inspiration to make a positive difference in the community. After covering a story on validated gang members and learning that many were teenagers, she stated, “I realized from that day on, I didn’t want to just report on what was happening, but I wanted to be somebody that was making something happen. So that’s when I enrolled in UNCW’s Master of Arts in Teaching program and haven’t looked back since.”

Nominees among other schools included:

  • Jacob Duvall, Murray Middle School
  • Annette Flechtner, Parsley Elementary School
  • Kelsey Frantz, Murrayville Elementary School
  • Amanda Hoke, Forest Hills Global Elementary School
  • Coraey Houser, Snipes Academy of Arts and Design
  • *Alisha Little, Ogden Elementary School
  • Kailey Mathews, Anderson Elementary School
  • *Stacey Pinno Maurer, Wrightsboro Elementary School
  • Mauve Mense, Bradley Creek Elementary School
  • Mallory Neidenthal, Pine Valley Elementary School
  • *Stephen O’Neil, Ashley High School
  • Ann Marie Arseneau Pierce, Williston Middle School
  • Jennifer Profeta, Eaton Elementary School
  • *Alex Schaivone, New Hanover High School
  • Allyson Wiggs, Trask Middle School
  • *Jennifer Yates, Johnson Pre-K Center

* Finalists

Each finalist made brief remarks about their experiences in education and was presented with a plaque and a $500 gift card from the Wilmington Rotary Club.

The inspiration for the Rookie of the Year program was motivated by the Rotary Club’s desire to honor teachers who made an impact on their own lives, according to Joe Owen, a member of the Downtown Wilmington Rotary Club.

Dr. Tim Markley, NHCS Superintendent, expressed gratitude to the Rotarians for their support. “Thank you for being such great partners in education. We couldn’t do this without you,” he said.