New Hanover County Schools


Engaging Students, Achieving Excellence


New Hanover County School Recognizes School Level Educators of the Year

Some of the 2020 Educators of the Year: Kate Tayloe, Danielle Talbert, Alcie Carney, Paul Slovik


This year, New Hanover County Schools is recognizing its school level Educators of the Year and practicing social distancing at the same time. Educators are being honored with yard signs and a NHCS Educators of the Year digital book to celebrate their achievement. The district has selected finalists for Educator of the Year from a pool of 44 school-level educators. Individuals who will move forward to the interview process are:
  • Mallory Neidenthal, Pine Valley Elementary
  • Ashley Pavlick, Mary C. Williams Elementary
  • Janice Rickey,  Rachel Freeman School of Engineering
  • Deana Srakovcic, Forest Hills Global Elementary
  • Trever Todd, Castle Hayne Elementary

  • Nuhn Johnson, Holly Shelter Middle
  • Molly McGowan, Williston Middle School
  • Jayme Wood, Myrtle Grove Middle School
  • Elizabeth Felts, New Hanover High School
  • Danielle Talbert, Isaac Bear Early College
  • Christa Tompkins, Southeast Area Technical High School
  • Rachel Manning, Snipes Academy of Arts and Design
  • Dr. Edith Skipper, Southeast Area Technical High School
  • Kate Tayloe, Alderman Elementary
“Each year we have an incredible selection of candidates for educator of the year. The teacher and principal selected will go on to represent the district at the Regional Educator of the Year level, which is a huge honor. Despite the restrictions that we have with COVID-19, we want to ensure that our educators are celebrated and recognized for this amazing achievement in their careers.” stated Susan Sellers, NHCS Supervisor of Certified Talent Management.
The finalists will be interviewed the week of May 11, 2020. The Educator of the Year Committee will then select the top four candidates; Principal of the Year, Elementary Educator of the Year, Middle School Educator of the Year, and High School Educator of the Year. From the three school levels, one teacher will be named New Hanover County Schools Educator of the Year and they, along with the Principal of the Year, will represent the district at the regional level. Award recipients will be announced on May 27, 2020, with a Publishers Clearing House-style event. To learn more about the 2020-2021 Educators of the Year visit NHCS Educators of the Year