New Hanover County Schools

NHCS

#NHCSLeadingtheWay

MENU

Title IX Board Committee

Hoggard volleyball team celebrating
Title IX is treating anyone differently based on sex or gender identity. Any unwelcomed harassment or discrimination falls under Title IX. 
 
No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance.
 
 

Committee Members

 

Name School/Department Email address
Jarelle Lewis Coordinator jarelle.lewis@nhcs.net
Stephanie Kraybill Member - Board of Education stephanie.kraybill2@nhcs.net
Stephanie Walker Member - Board of Education stephanie.walker2@nhcs.net
Julie Varnam Asst. Superintendent -  NHCS Student Support Services / President, NC Council for Administrators of Special Education julie.varnam@nhcs.net
Lt. Chris Smith New Hanover County Sheriff's Office chsmith@nhcgov.com
Patrick McCarty Principal - Ashley High School patrick.mccarty@nhcs.net
Amy Oots Principal - Mary C. Williams Elementary amy.oots@nhcs.net
Tanya Jordan Supervisor - School Counselors/Social Workers tanya.jordan@nhcs.net
Jennifer Tucker Family Life Education Teacher jennifer.tucker@nhcs.net
Joelle Newman PE/Family Life Education - Lead Teacher joelle.newman@nhcs.net
Leslie Cohen She/Her - Community Member  
Clay Gruber WHAT Clinic  
Amy Feath Executive Director - Carousel Center  
Janie Dowda Rape Crisis Center  
Robby McGee Dean of Students - CFCC  
Amber Grove, Esq. Director of Title IX & Clery Compliance - UNCW  
Dr. Jackie White Retired Educator, UNC Greensboro  
Dawn Ferrer Director - A Safe Place to Go dawn@asafeplacetogo.com
Amanda Piner Rape Crisis Center - Coastal Horizons apiner@coastalhorizons.org
John Henry Title IX Investigator - NHCS john.henry@nhcs.net
Glen Locklear Director of Safety - NHCS glen.locklear@nhcs.net
Bernice Johnson NHC Council of PTA's  

Title IX

Board Members: Stephanie Kraybill, Stephanie Walker

County Coordinator: Jarelle Lewis