New Hanover County Schools




New Hanover County Schools Announces 2023-2024 Educator of the Year Awards

New Hanover County Schools Announces 2023-2024 Educator of the Year Awards
New Hanover County Schools

New Hanover County Schools Announces 2023-2024 Educator of the Year Awards

New Hanover County Schools (NHCS) is proud to announce the recipients of the 2023-2024 Educator of the Year Awards. NHCS recognized the winners at the annual Educator of the Year Celebration at Brooklyn Arts Center for their outstanding dedication and commitment to their students, schools and communities. 

  • Nikki Karnes, Masonboro Elementary School- Elementary Educator of the Year 
  • Clary French, Williston Middle School- Middle School Educator of the Year 
  • Fatima Sail, Ashley High School- High School Educator of the Year 
In addition to these individual awards, NHCS announced two overall awards for Teacher and Principal of the Year. 
Christianne May from Castle Hayne Elementary School was named Principal of the Year. Ms. May’s leadership and vision have led to significant improvements at her school and positively impacted the lives of her students and their families.
Fatima Sail from Ashley High School was named Overall Educator of the Year. Ms. Sail’s dedication to her students and innovative teaching methods make her a role model for educators across the district.
“These educators represent the best of our school district, and we are grateful for their hard work and dedication,” said Dr. Charles Foust, Superintendent of New Hanover County Schools. “Their commitment to their students and their schools inspires us all.”
This annual event was a success with support from sponsors who recognize the incredible work of our public educators. We are thrilled to share that this year's finalists will receive the following awards:
  • All Educators of the Year - $100 from the Board of Education;
  • The 11 Finalists - additional $150 + HotWorx membership;
  • Elementary, Middle, and High School Educators of the Year - additional $250 from the Board of Education + $500 from Hendrick Toyota Wilmington;
  • Overall Educator of the Year - additional $5,000 from Jeff Hovis of Intracoastal Realty
  • Principal Finalists - $500
  • Principal of the Year - $1,000
A complete list of all New Hanover County Schools Educators of the Year is provided below. Congratulations to them all.
Ashley Sansing - Annie H. Snipes Academy of Arts and Design
Heidi Pfirman - Bradley Creek Elementary School
Chloe Mabe - Carolina Beach Elementary School
Angelica Hicks - Castle Hayne Elementary School
Jennifer Chetti - College Park Elementary School
Rebecca Long - College Road Early Childhood Center
Victoria Rexroad - Dorothy B. Johnson Pre-K Center
Jaimie Lang - Dr. Hubert Eaton Sr. Elementary School
Collins Hewett - Dr. John Codington Elementary School
Ambie Hower - Edwin A. Alderman Elementary School
Kimberly Houser* - Edwin A. Anderson Elementary School
Ashley Keegan - Forest Hills Global Elementary
Cheryl Emmerich - Heyward C. Bellamy Elementary School
Whitney MacDaniel - Holly Tree Elementary School
Kasseady Beam - John J. Blair Elementary School
Jennifer Hinson - Lake Forest Academy
Kevin Murphy* - Mary C. Williams Elementary School
Kimberly Huene - Mary Washington Howe Pre-K Center
Nikki Karnes* - Masonboro Elementary
Lacey Somech - Murrayville Elementary School
Danielle Smallwood* - Ogden Elementary School
Tommy Tarrant - Pine Valley Elementary School
Aubree Garcia - Porters Neck Elementary School
Kamica Morris - Rachel Freeman School of Engineering
Taylor Adams - Sunset Park Elementary
Tara Mulvey* - Winter Park Elementary School
Amy Pollard - Wrightsboro Elementary School
Sarah Holliday - Wrightsville Beach Elementary School
Middle School
Robert Roth - Charles P. Murray Middle School
Schala Harper - Emma B. Trask Middle School
Kelly Meddock - Holly Shelter Middle School
Jennifer Booth* - The International School at Gregory
Catherine Massa - JC Roe Center
Britt Rogers - M.C.S. Noble Middle School
Brittany Kontas - Myrtle Grove Middle School
Lori Roy* - Roland-Grise Middle School
Clary French* - Williston Middle School
High School
Erin Daniels - Career Readiness Academy at Mosley PLC
Tod Bonello - Emsley A. Laney High School
Fatima Sail* - Eugene Ashley High School
Daniel Walter - Isaac Bear Early College High School
Shaney Fersinger - John T. Hoggard High School
Taylor Henderson* - New Hanover High School
Gayle Woodcock* - Southeast Area Technical High School
Amanda Sharp-Royals - Wilmington Early College High School
Christianne May - Castle Hayne Elementary
Paul Slovik - Porters Neck Elementary
Diego Lehocky - Sunset Park Elementary