New Hanover County Schools




New Hanover County Schools Announces Educator of the Year 2023 Finalists

New Hanover County Schools Announces Educator of the Year 2023 Finalists
New Hanover County Schools

New Hanover County Schools Announces Educator of the Year Finalists  

Wilmington, NC- New Hanover County Schools is excited to announce the following teachers as Finalist for Educator of the Year: 
Kimberly Houser, 3rd-grade teacher at  Anderson Elementary
Kevin Murphy, PE teacher at Mary C Williams Elementary
Nikki Karnes, Kindergarten teacher at Masonboro Elementary
Danielle Smallwood, 4th-grade teacher at Ogden Elementary
Tara Mulvey, AIG teacher at Winter Park Elementary
Jennifer Booth, 6th/7th grade Science and Social Studies  teacher at The International School at Gregory
Lori Roy, 8th grade Math teacher at Roland-Grise Middle
Clary French, 6th grade ELA and Social Studies teacher at Williston Middle
Fatima Sail, French teacher at Ashley High
Taylor Henderson, Math teacher at New Hanover High
Gayle Woodcock, CTE teacher at Southeast Area Technical High School
Christianne May, Castle Hayne Elementary
Paul Slovik, Porters Neck Elementary
Diego Lehocky, Sunset Park Elementary
Each school selected a Teacher of the Year candidate to represent their school based on state guidelines.  Each school-based Teacher of the Year had the opportunity to submit a portfolio. The portfolios were read and scored by the 14-member Educator of the Year Committee, and these 11 finalists were selected based on their portfolio scores.
The finalist will have an interview with the committee. The Elementary, Middle, and High School Teacher of the Year will be selected based on the interview scores. The Overall Teacher of the Year will be chosen from the level winners. 
The Overall New Hanover County Schools Teacher of the Year and Principal of the Year will be announced at the Educator of the Year Celebration at the Brooklyn Arts Center on Thursday, May 4, 2023, at 6:00 pm.
A complete list of all 45 Educators of the Year Nominees can be found on the New Hanover County Schools website.
Press Release 
April 20,  2023
For additional information, contact Russell Clark,