New Hanover County Schools




NHCS Announces Rookie of the Year Finalists

NHCS Announces Rookie of the Year Finalists
New Hanover County Schools

NHCS Announces Rookie of the Year Finalists

Five promising new teachers were named “Rookie of the Year” finalists by New Hanover County Schools this week. 
From a Pre-K teacher in her second career to a third-year special ed teacher who is already serving as department chair, these educators are showing exceptional drive, talent, and ability to engage their students.
The Rookie of the Year process honors teachers in their 2nd and 3rd years who were nominated by their administrative team for excellence in the classroom.
Congratulations to:
Melissa Lawrence - Second-year Pre-K Teacher at Dorothy B. Johnson Pre-K Center
Breylin Young - Second-year 8th grade ELA Teacher at Trask Middle School
Devin Pierce - Third-year EC Teacher at the International School at Gregory
Maggie Sellers - Third-year 5th grade Teacher at Snipes Academy of Arts & Design
Sarah Wood - Third-year EC Teacher at Codington Elementary School
The award is sponsored by the Wilmington Rotary Club, who will host a banquet where the overall winner is announced on Feb. 13. For photos and videos from their surprise announcements and quotes from the finalists, check out the NHCS Facebook page.