At this time North Carolina Public School Driver Education programs are on pause across the state. As soon as guidance is provided on restarting our programs we will begin with students that need behind the wheel instruction. There is currently not a plan to provide summer courses, information will be updated as state provides guidance on instruction.
On June 19, Governor Cooper signed into law House Bill 158 that addresses driver's education.
Of the two parts of the bill, Section 2 specifically addresses classroom instruction for driver's education and states:
Notwithstanding G.S. 115C-215(b)(1), (2), (4), and (5) and G.S. 115C-216, and the requirements of State Board of Education Policy DRIV-0004, for students enrolled in classroom driver education between January 2020 and March 16, 2020, in a public school or a licensed commercial driver training school, students shall be deemed to have completed all classroom instruction requirements for driver education if the student completed at least 15 hours of classroom instruction prior to March 16, 2020. All students enrolled in driver education in the spring semester of 2020 shall be required to complete a minimum of six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction before being issued a North Carolina Driver Education Completion Certificate.
For those that did not complete the 30 classroom hours portion in its entirety your child is deemed to have now completed the classroom portion only of the driver's education class in which they were enrolled during the Spring semester.
However, your child is still required to complete the six hours of behind-the-wheel (BTW) instruction. We are awaiting additional guidance from the Department of Public Instruction (DPI) on how/when we can proceed with BTW. At this time, we do not know what BTW will look like or when it could begin.
The Department of Public Instruction provides oversight of the public school driver education program. We are provided guidance from DPI as per the Governor's Executive Orders.
We will keep you updated on BTW and how we can move forward with it as we receive updates from DPI and the Governor's office.
Thank you for your patience.
Course Registration & Cost:
Course cost is $65 and registration is first come, first serve. PLEASE ONLY SIGN UP ONE TIME! Duplicate entries are subject to not being in enrolled in the course. Visit the Driver's Education site for your school for specific registration and class information. (School links are posted below).
IF YOU HAVE SPECIFIC QUESTIONS REGARDING THE COURSE PLEASE CHECK THE SCHOOL'S WEBSITE OR CONTACT THE SITE COORDINATOR FOR THAT SCHOOL. (Contact Information listed below)
Please visit High School Sites for information on Driver's Education.
You can access North Carolina Driver's Education Practice Tests @
Any New Hanover County student (home school, charter, public, or private) is eligible to take Driver Education with New Hanover County Schools.
Ashley High School
Hoggard High School / IBECHS
Laney High School/WECHS/ SEA-Tech
New Hanover High School/Mosley
(910) 251-6100 x 74428
Kristin Jackson 254-4337
Director of Student Support Services
Lyndsie Hutson 254-4292