New Hanover County Schools

NHCS

Engaging Students, Achieving Excellence

MENU

Registration Information and Packet


Enrolling Your Student into New Hanover County Schools

 

Documents Needed to Enroll

 
  • Certified copy of Birth Certificate
    • In compliance with North Carolina law, students must be 5 years of age on or before August 31 to be considered for Kindergarten
       
  • Proof of New Hanover County Residency
    • Residential deed or current property tax statement
    • HUD closing statement
    • Current residential lease
    • Notarized Residency Affidavit AND copy of residential deed, property tax statement or residential lease from homeowner/leaseholder affirming tenancy
       
  • Current Immunization records
    • North Carolina law requires parents/guardians to present certification of immunizations on or before the first day of school entry. If documentation is not presented, parents and/or guardians have 30 calendar days to provide documentation or the student shall be excluded from school until proof if provided
       
  • Health Assessment
    • In compliance with North Carolina law, all children entering NC public schools for the first time must submit proof of a health assessment within 30 days. The health assessment must have been completed within 12 months prior to the date the child would have first been eligible for initial entry into the public schools. If documentation is not presented, parents and/or guardians have 30 calendar days to provide documentation or the student shall be excluded from school until proof is provided
       
  • Photo ID of legal parent or legal court appointed guardian
     
  • Custody documents, if applicable

 

Enrollment Packets

Elementary (Grades Kindergarten - 5th)

Middle (Grades 6th - 8th)

High (Grades 9th - 12th)